Pasta win…

The last time I had the pasta for my main meal, I was not impressed – it was quite bland and squishy.  However, pasta is one of my favourite ‘normal’ meals, so I really wanted to find a way to make it work.   So, I chopped up some mushrooms and a courgette, and dry roasted them, I also added to them some thyme, basil, salt and paprika.  After about 15 minutes in a hot oven, I then added this mixture in to the pasta, and also a little chopped chilli.  I then heated on the hob as per usual, and served, with a tiny shake of vegan parmesan on top.   This was perhaps the nicest dinner I’ve had so far.

I know that DC is designed to be heated in the microwave, but we don’t have one at home.  We have a tiny kitchen.  (However small you’re picturing, divide it by at least 4).  So, I’ve ended up heating all my food up on the hob.  The good thing about this is that I think it encourages you to add flavourings/spices to the food as you’re heating it up, rather than just waiting for the ‘ping’ of the microwave. Also, if I’m stood at the hob heating the meal, it is no extra effort to cook some veggies at the same time.

The rest of Tuesday looked like this:

Tuesday

Breakfast

Original granola (248 cal)

Lunch

Parsnip and chili soup (102 cal)
4 yeast extract rice cakes (122)

Dinner

Tomato and Vegetable Pasta (264 cal)
Courgette (30 cal)
Mushrooms (30 cal)

Snack

Chocolate Chip Snack Bar (99)
Yog (90)

Half a pint of milk (125 cal)

Total 1110


1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Aly
    Jul 07, 2010 @ 16:57:08

    That’s positive! I think I would cry without my microwave – I am so impatient cooking by stovetop, even though we do a lot of stirfrying that way. But I figure I’ll be cooking rice or pasta for meals mostly anyway, so sometimes cooking the packs outside the microwave can’t hurt!

    One more day til my parcel arrives! 😀

    Reply

Leave a comment